Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|
Burnaby Sports Hall of Fame 2019
• Team •

Categories:  Athlete, Coach, Builder, and Team.

2001 Burnaby Canadians Aduccis Womens Soccer


After upsetting five-time British Columbia champion UBC Alumni 2-0 in the provincial final, the Burnaby Canadians Anduccis went on to win the 2001 Canadian senior women’s soccer championship with an ending worthy of a Hollywood script. During group play at the national tournament in Vaughn, Ontario the Canadians defeated Saskatchewan 4-0, Newfoundland 3-0 and Quebec 2-0 while tying Ontario 1-1. That earned them a berth in the final against Nova Scotia, which had not surrendered a goal in winning all four of its games in the other group. In the final, no goals were scored in regulation, or in 30 minutes of overtime. So it was off to a penalty-kick shootout, which turned into a real nail-biter. After each team scored twice in the usual five-shot shootout, the teams exchanged goals and misses in each successive round to where it was 5-5 after 10 rounds. That left only the goaltenders eligible to shoot. Burnaby goalie Michele Gademans scored on her shot. She then went back in net and saved the shot by the Nova Scotian keeper to secure a national title for Burnaby.

Back: Manager: Mike Everett, Head Coach: Danny Pietramala, Michelle Gademans, Kathryn Manson, Kristine Jack, Kelly Donaldson, Teresa Latham, Phebe Trotman, Leah Stipic, Janine Duprey, Leanna Byrom, Nadia Salvino, Sian Bagshawe, assistant coaches: Chris Johnson and Scott Fletcher.
Front: Catriona Scheffer, Taryn Cervi, Aimee Dunn, Tanya Genovese, Andrea Poole, Lynsey Burkinshaw, Gillian Hicks, Laura Favaro, Leigh Collins, Veronica Lie, Lisa McLeod, trainer: Jonathan Figueroa.
Missing: Sheryl Pietramala, Rosalyn Hicks.






















Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|